2017 Book Challenges

Please read for book challenges!!!


2017 Book Challenges


Challenge #1: Pop Sugar Challenge

So I did the Pop Sugar Challenge last year and I think over all I did pretty good. I completed 45 out of the 50 challenges; however, I don't think I did as well because I didn't plan out exactly what I wanted to read according to each challenge. This year I did it a little differently and you guys will get the opportunity to see my tentative TBR for each challenge. Keep reading to see what books I will be reading for each challenge. 


  • Book Recommended by Librarian: Iz Du Tak 
  • A Book Thats Been on Your TBR for Way Too Long: Lair of Dreams
  • A Book of Letters: Carrie or Perks of Being A Wallflower
  • An Audiobook: Dream On (Whatever After #4)
  • A Book By A Person of Color: A Deeper Love Inside 
  • A Book W/ One of the Four Seasons in the Title: The Summer Girls
  • A Book That is A Story Within A Story: Fangirl 
  • A Book With Multiple Authors: Illuminae 
  • An Espionage Thriller: The Unlikely Spy 
  • A Book With A Cat on the Cover: Into the Wild 
  • A Book By An Author Who Uses A Pseudonym: The Cuckoo's Calling 
  • A Bestseller From A Genre You Don't Normally Read: (Romance) 50 Shades of Grey
  • A Book By or About A Person Who Has A Disability: Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy 
  • A Book Involving Travel: Westminster Abbey 
  • A Book With A Subtitle: Roots 
  • A Book Published in 2017: The Hate U Give 
  • A Book Involving A Mythical Creature; City of Fallen Angels
  • A Book You've Read Before That Never Fails to Make You Smile: Harry Potter Series
  • A Book About Food: Food Wars 
  • A Book With Career Advice: #GirlBoss
  • A Book With A Nonhuman Perspective: Wings of Fire 
  • A Steampunk Novel: Soulless 
  • A Book With A Red Spine: The Goblins Puzzle
  • A Book Set In The Wilderness: The Hatchet or Julie of the Wolves
  • A Book By An Author From A Country You've Never Visited: The Vegetarian or My Brilliant Friend .

  • A Book With A Title That's A Character's Name: Rebecca or Jane Eyre 
  • A Novel Set During Wartime: Lilac Girls 
  • A Book With An Unreliable Narrator: Fight Club or The False Prince 
  • A Book With Pictures: Monstress Vol. 1
  • A Book Where The Main Character is A Different Ethnicity Than You: Amina's Voice or The Gauntlet
  • A Book About Interesting An Interesting Woman: Hidden Figures
  • A Book With A Month Or Day of the Week in the Title: Freaky Friday or Early Sunday Morning
  • A Book Written By Someone You Admire: History Is All You Left Me 
  • A Book That's Becoming A Movie in 2017: The Circle 
  • A Book Set Around A Holiday Other Than Christmas: Hallowe'en Party 
  • The First Book In A Series You Haven't Read Before: The Red Pyramid 
  • A Book You Bought On A Trip: TBD 
If for some reason I move exceptionally fast through this list. This year they have a an advanced list that everyone can follow. I decided to go ahead and make a TBR for that list just in case I do decide to make it through that list. 

  • A Book Recommended By An Author You Love: Little Women (Maya Angelou) or The Story of the Treasure Seekers (J.K. Rowling) 
  • A Bestseller From 2016: Six of Crows 
  • A Book With A Family Member Term in the Title: Maus I - A Survivors Tale: My Father's Bleeds History 
  • A Book That Takes Place Over A Character's Life Span: The Lake House or The Curious Case of Benjamin Button 
  • A Book About An  Immigrant or Refugee: Little Bee 
  • A Book From A Genre/Subgenre That You've Never Heard: (Literary Nonsense) Alice In Wonderland 
  • A Book That's More Than 800 Pages: It
  • A Book You Got From A Used Book Sale: TBD 
  • A Book That's Been Mentioned In Another Book: Reading Lolita In Tehran 
  • A Book About A Difficult Topic: Picture Book About Divorce 
  • A Book Based on Mythology: The Hidden Oracle

Challenge #2: Diverse Reads Challenge

For this challenge I decided to follow along with the monthly challenges that way I'm reading at least 12 diverse books this year. I made a TBR for this challenge as well to keep me on track! 

  • January (Diverse Folklore): Starry River of the Sky 
  • February (POC Main Character): One Crazy Summer 
  • March (MC with Disability): Wonder
  • April (Mental Health): Challenger Deep 
  • May (Religious Diversity): Amina's Voice
  • June/July (Sexual/Gender Identity): Simon Vs. Homo Sapiens & More Than This/Everything Leads to You 
  • August (Non-Western Setting): The Thing Around Your Neck 
  • September (#ownvoices): American Street 
  • October (Intersectionality): We Should All Be Feminist & Bitch Planet 
  • November (Diverse Re-Tellings): The Rose & The Dagger 
  • December (2017 Release): The Gauntlet 

Challenge #3: Netflix & Books Challenge 



This challenge is going to be really interesting because in incorporates watching different TV shows and reading different books. For this one I decided to go for the highest challenge which is a level two: 


Like my other two challenges I will be coming up with a tentative TBR to follow. Look below for more information: 



Update: (Jan. 9th) Season 1 of the Hills Complete
Update: (Jan. 11th) Season 2 of the Hills Complete
Update: (Feb. 3rd) Season 3, 4, 5 of the Hills Complete




Tudors Season 1, 2, 3: Completed April 2017
Tudors Season 4: Completed May 2017 





Reign Season 1: Completed 3/2017

Update: Vol. 1 of manga completed 3/2017




Bad Reviews But You're Still Interested: 

Update: (Feb 24) Season 1 of Once Upon A Time Complete 
Book & Show Have Spin-Off Series: 





Below are some other TV Shows I want to watch throughout the year. And from my understanding we get points for every TV Show we watch. 



Update 1/19/17: Finished Season 3 of Drop Dead Diva
Update 1/22/17: Finished Season 4 of Drop Dead Diva
Update 2/3/17: Finished Season 5 & 6 of Drop Dead Diva
Update 2/24/17: Finished Season 1 of Vampire Diaries 





Other TV Shows: 
  • Shameless Season 1: Completed Feb. 2017 
  • Fresh Off the Boat Season 1: Completed Feb. 2017 
  • Empire Season 1: Completed Feb. 2017 
  • Grey's Anatomy Season 1 & 2: Completed March. 2017 
  • Grey's Anatomy Season 3: Completed April 2017 
  • Grey's Anatomy Season 4, 5, 6: Completed May 2017 
  • Riverdale Season 1: Completed May 2017 
  • Switched at Birth Season 5: Completed May 2017 
  • Gossip Girl Season 1: Completed June 2017



 Challenge #4: 10th Annual Graphic Novel & Manga Challenge


The graphic novel and manga challenge is a way to encourage people to read graphic novels, comics, and manga through the year. I think I'm going to go for the Silver Age which will be 52 books. I'll keep track of the list here! : ) -- *the titles will initially have a link to my Goodreads reaction. If I do a full length review on my blog I will say so beside the book. 
  1. Monstress Vol. 1 
  2. The Walking Dead Vol. 3 
  3. The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 4 
  4. Giant Days Vol. 1 
  5. Grimm Fairy Tales, Vol. 3
  6. Aya: Love in Yop City
  7. March Vol. 1
  8. Nana Vol. 4 (review)
  9. Sweetness & Lightning Vol. 1
  10. Food Wars Vol. 15
  11. Return to Wonderland (#0-#6)
  12. Lady Killer
  13. I Hate Fairyland Vol. 1
  14. I Hate Fairyland Vol. 2
  15. Nana Vol. 5
  16. Nana Vol. 6 
  17. Nana Vol. 7 
  18. March Vol. 2
  19. March Vol. 3
  20. Chew Vol. 5
  21. Chew Vol. 6
  22. Girls: The Complete Collection (Vol. 1-4)
  23. Beauty Vol. 1
  24. Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Vol. 1
  25. Archie Vol. 1
  26. Nana Vol. 8 
  27. Blankets 
  28. Emma Vol.1 
  29. Food Wars Vol. 16
  30. Food Wars Vol. 17 
  31. Komomo Confiserie Vol. 1
  32. Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur Vol. 2
  33. The Vision Vol. 1
  34. Archie V Predator 
  35. Revival Vol. 2 
  36. Oddly Normal Vol. 1
  37. Bitch Planet Vol. 1
  38. Chew Vol. 7
  39. Goldie Vance Vol. 1
  40. Roller Girl 
  41. Archie Vol. 2 
  42. Giant Days Vol. 2
  43. Archie Vol. 3



Challenge #5: The Chronological Sherlock Holmes Challenge


This is going to be a really fun challenge where we read all of the Sherlock Holmes stories and books in a little over a year. I've already marked my calendar with the due date of each story and you guys will see a review of each story on my blog at least once a week. For the full schedule look here.

Challenge #6: Picture Book Challenge 

This is a challenge I'm really excited for! I'm so happy that someone is invested in doing a picture book challenge. I will be doing the challenge that pushes me to read 104 picture books under different categories. I'll be updating the categories here: 

_ 1. An alphabet book: Z is for Mouse by Kelly Bingham
_ 2. A counting book: 1, 2 Buckle My Shoe

_ 3. Concept book: shapes or numbers or opposites or colors

_ 4. a book set on a farm or in the country

_ 5. a book set in the city or in an urban area: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers (NYC)

_ 6. a book set at the beach, in the ocean, or by a lake 

_ 7. a book with human characters

_ 8. a book with animal characters: My Friend Rabbit

_ 9. a bedtime book: Goodnight Mouse

_ 10. a rhyming book

_ 11. a book celebrating art 

_ 12. a book celebrating dance

_ 13. a book celebrating music 

_ 14. a book celebrating family (parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, etc.)

_ 15. a book about feelings, expressing feelings

_ 16. a book with a twist (unexpected) ending

_ 17. a book about pets (cats, dogs, fish) The Summer Nick Taught His Cats to Read by Curtis Manley

_ 18. a book celebrating libraries or reading

_ 19. a book translated into English (originally published in another language/country) : Are You An Echo?

_ 30. a book about trains or planes

_ 31. a book about cars or trucks

_ 32. a book about starting school

_ 33. a book about friendship (sharing, caring, forgiving): A Splendid Friend Indeed by Suzanne Bloom

_ 34. a book about being ME, about being unique, special, loved, etc.
_ 35. a fairy tale
_ 36. a twisted (adapted) fairy tale
_ 37. a book about a holiday
_ 38. a new-to-you author:  Billy's Booger: A Memoir by William Joyce
_ 39. a new-to-you illustrator
_ 40. a book about new experiences (dentist, doctor, sleepovers, movies, playing sports, learning to swim, etc.)
_ 41. a series book
_ 42. a book celebrating food (cooking, eating, trying new foods, eating healthy)
_43. a book published before 1950
_ 44. a book published in the 1950s
_ 45. a book published in the 1960s
_ 46. a book published in the 1970s
_ 47. a book published in the 1980s
_ 48. a book published in the 1990s
_ 49. a book published in the 2000s
_ 50. a book published 2010-2016  (2015) Grandma in Blue with Red Had
_ 51. a book published in 2017
_ 52. a book by Dr. Seuss: It Happened on Mulberry Street
_ 53. a book by Mo Willems
_ 54. a book by Jan Thomas
_ 55. a book by Eric Carle From Head to Toe
_ 56. a book by Laura Numeroff  If You Give a Pig A Pancake
_ 57. a book by Patricia Polacco
_ 58. a book by Jon Klassen 
_ 59. a book by Beatrix Potter
_ 60. a book by Kevin Henkes: Owen
_ 61. a book written or illustrated by LeUyen Pham
_ 62. a Caldecott winner
_ 63.  a Caldecott honor: Blackout by John Rocco
_ 64. a picture book biography
 65. a nonfiction picture book I Am Josephine by Jan Thornhill
_ 66. a book from your childhood
_ 67. a book you discovered as an adult
_ 68. a book celebrating writing, being an author or illustrator
_ 69. a library book:  I Yam A Donkey by CeCe Bell
_ 70. an audio book
_ 71.  a book about dinosaurs OR dragons I Wanna Be A Great Big Dinosaur by Heath McKenzie
_ 72. nonfiction book about animals (or animal)
_ 73. a challenged book OR a controversial book
_ 74. a book that makes you laugh Mr. Squirrel & The Moon by Sebastian Meschenmoser
_ 75. a book that makes you cry
_ 76. hate the text, love the art  Dirt + Water = Mud by Katherine Hannigan 
_ 77. love the text, hate the art
_ 78. a book with a great cover
_ 79. a book with an ugly cover
_ 80. a book about toys
_ 81. a book about weather
_ 82. a picture book for older readers
_ 83. a book of jokes, riddles, tongue-twisters
_ 84. a book about seasons
_ 85. a song
_ 86. a poetry book
_ 87. a book by a celebrity
_ 88.  a book published in Australia
_ 89. a book published in the UK
_ 90. a book about science or math 
_ 91. a book about history or historical event 
_ 92. a book about sports
_ 93. a book about celebrating birthdays
_ 94. a book about a President or world leader 
_ 95. a book about another country Water Princess by Susan Verde
_ 96. a book celebrating faith
_ 97. a pop-up book, or, a book with cut-outs or flaps or fold-outs 
_ 98. a bilingual book: Fire! !Fuego! Brave Bomberos 
_ 99.  a television series that has been adapted to a book
_ 100. a book that has been adapted to a television series
_ 101. an adaptation of a myth or legend
_ 102. a book about babies  

Other Challenges:
  • I'll be setting my goodreads goal at 200 books this year! 
  • I will continue my around the world reading challenge by reading at least 12 translated woks this year. Look below for the map: 
    • Italy: My Brilliant Friend (Jan. 2017) 
    • Ivory Coast: Aya (Feb. 2017)
    • South Africa: Born A Crime (Mar. 2017)
    • Democratic Republic of the Congo: How Dare the Sun Rise (April 2017)


  • I will also be positing to my blog 3/4 times a week and writing either a book or movie review once a week. 

1 comment:

  1. So glad you're taking on the Sherlock Holmes challenge! :) Good luck on all your reading plans for the new year!

    ReplyDelete