07 December 2017

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection #1
# of Pages: 336
Publication: April 24th, 2012
Source: Library Audiobook
Genre: Contemporary
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository 

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.



Okay so let me tell you how quickly I finished this book. I literally started it right before I left work on a Friday and listened to it on Sunday and a little bit during work on Monday. It was not what I was expecting. In fact, prior to reading this book I thought I was going to dislike it. A lot of people told me that it was like the a traditional dystopian world that featured the bachelor. And to be honest they weren’t wrong; however, I enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected. It was cheesy in a lot of areas and I thought that the writing wasn’t excellent, but it was fast paced and easy to listen to. One of my favorite parts was getting to know and understand all of the characters and where they fell in terms of the caste system. It seems like this world will have the potential to get extremely complex in the future books. One part that really stood out to me was the part where America and the rest of the contestants are in a history class learning how the country of Illea came about. It was interesting how nations such as China and Russia were able to take over the United States and develop it into a completely different world. I’m interested in seeing where the history behind this nation goes in future books.

As far as character development is concerned, I can see why people like America and why people cannot stand her. She has a tendency to complain and whine a lot, but at the same time I could understand why. She is being pulled away from someone she loves and forced to be in a situation with someone she doesn’t love and she is in a low caste system. Nevertheless, there were times when I just wanted to scream at her to suck it up and get over it. America is also indecisive which explains the development of the “love triangle” that occurs so conveniently at the end of the book. If you know anything about me then you will know and understand that I loathe insta-love and love triangles with a passion. I think they are the most cliche and overused elements in YA books. Very few authors, in my opinion, have been able to successfully apply these tropes in an entertaining and effective manner. I also liked and had some issues with Maxon and Aspen. Maxon was charming and it was difficult to watch him be placed into a situation where he is forced to choose a bride while the whole world is watching. At the same time, he rubbed me the wrong way a few times. Like America, he comes off as indecisive and childish. I was rooting for Aspen until he brutally broke up with America. I can understand wanting to provide for someone, but that whole mentality in which the man “is supposed” to provide for the women bothers me whether it is in fiction or in real life. There are some things that happen towards the end that really bother me; however, I won’t disclose them because they are spoilers. Nevertheless, I’m interested in seeing where America’s decisions will lead her in this next book.

For a book that I wasn’t expecting to like, this actually turned into a pretty pleasant read and I will be continuing the series. I plan on doing a review for each book and novella so be on the look-out as I finish each one!


06 December 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday, #21 The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.



Series: The Belles
# of Pages: 448
Publication: February 6th, 2018 
Goodreads | Amazon


Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of Orléans, Belles are revered, for they control Beauty, and Beauty is a commodity coveted above all else. In Orléans, the people are born gray, they are born damned, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they transform and be made beautiful. But it’s not enough for Camellia to be just a Belle. She wants to be the favorite—the Belle chosen by the Queen of Orléans to live in the royal palace, to tend to the royal family and their court, to be recognized as the most talented Belle in the land. But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favorite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that the very essence of her existence is a lie—that her powers are far greater, and could be more dangerous, than she ever imagined. And when the queen asks Camellia to risk her own life and help the ailing princess by using Belle powers in unintended ways, Camellia now faces an impossible decision. With the future of Orléans and its people at stake, Camellia must decide—save herself and her sisters and the way of the Belles—or resuscitate the princess, risk her own life, and change the ways of her world forever.

I've been hearing nothing but AMAZING things about this book and I've had my eyes on it for a while so I cannot wait to read it as soon as it releases.

What are you looking forward to?

01 December 2017

Friday #56, #44 Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!

Happy Reading!!




Series: The Grishaverse #1 
# of Pages: 358
Publication: June 5th, 2012
Source: Purchased Copy 
Genre: YA Fantasy 
Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository 

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee. Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart. Shadow and Bone is the first installment in Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy.

So this week I'm reading a book that I have to finish for my young adult materials class. I'm really excited about it because it's already been fast paced and engaging. I'm hoping to finish it soon and I hope that I can go ahead and move on to the next couple of books.

"I considered refusing, but what was the point? I shrugged awkwardly out of my coat and let the Healer ease my shirt over my shoulders. The Corporalki were the Order of the Living and the Dead. I tried to focus on the living part, but I'd never been healed by a Grisha and every muscle in my body tensed with fear."
 What book are you currently reading?

30 November 2017

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon


Series: N/A
# of Pages: 348
Publication: November 1st, 2016
Source: Library Copy
Genre: Contemporary
Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository 

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story. Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us. The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?


So this book was not the book I was expecting it to be. I heard a lot about it and quite a few individuals had an issue with the whole concept of insta-love. Usually, I would agree; however, for some reason it worked in this novel and I really enjoyed the fact that Natasha and Daniel fell in love over the course of a day. The aspect of this book that made it so different it terms of “insta-love” from other books that I read was Natasha’s level of skepticism. I have found that typically the female lead of these stories end up swooning over the guy that is characterized as the male lead. Natasha was the complete opposite. She was determined to prove that love is an exact science and because of that it goes as easily as it comes. Because of this, it was up to Daniel to get her to see the world through a set of different lenses. Honestly, I found their love story to be romantic. It’s not completely realistic, but I do believe that there are people who find and feel strong connections to individuals that they have just met.

Another aspect of the book that I really enjoyed was all the cultural references. Half of my family is from Jamaica, so I definitely related to Natasha and her family especially her father’s desire to come to the United States to live out the American dream. Like Natasha and Daniel, sometimes I find it hard to live out the “requirements” of the heritage and culture of my family while still attempting to conform to certain ideals and traditions of American families. It can be hard and frustrating so watching Daniel and Natasha work out their inner turmoil related to their American experiences was extremely interesting.

Outside of the amazing character development, Yoon’s writing was phenomenal. I was not a huge fan of Everything, Everything, but this book was AMAZING. Her writing flowed and it was beautiful and unique. Not only did she write a story that addressed culture and immigration, but it also created a new way to look at love and she did a crazy amazing job making everyone connected. The ending wasn’t perfect. It wasn't knit into a neat little package where everything worked out for Daniel and Natasha. I LOVED that. I’m not saying that I hate perfect endings; however, I appreciate realistic endings and this one was real all the way to the end. Time and distance are a real factor when it comes to love and I definitely could appreciate that.

I really appreciated everything about this book. It was carefully planned out and written and I can tell that is her second book. It’s so beautiful and definitely delves into the philosophy associated with love. If you haven’t read this book definitely give it a chance. It is fascinating, beautiful, and just completely and utterly amazing.


29 November 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #20, The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.

Series: N/A
# of Pages: 480
Publication: March 29th, 2018 



Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.


I don't remember where I discovered this book. I'm sure it was from one of the many AMAZING blogs that I follow; however, this is one of my must reads of 2018. It sounds completely and totally amazing and I know that I will enjoy it especially since it takes place in Taiwan!

What book are you looking forward to?

28 November 2017

Top 10 Tuesday: Winter TBR 2017-2018

Happy Tuesday everyone! I can't believe it's almost the first of December! Time is definitely flying by. So if you didn't know which I'm sure you do, Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and Bookish. This Tuesday's theme has us focusing on our winter TBR. I just want you guys to know ahead of time that I am awful at TBR's. I'm such a mood reader that I rarely stick to them; however, this year I'm going to try extremely hard to get it together. : )



Here are some of the release of 2017 that I was supposed to get to that I haven't just yet. The list is a lot longer than this, but I at least want to read these four:





These are the four releases in January/February of next year that I really want to check out. Like before my list is actually longer than this; however, I'm trying to be realistic haha. I already have an ARC of Cruel Prince by Holly Black so I'm sure I can definitely read that one sooner than later.




These last two books are just books that I'm interested in reading that I already own or have currently checked out from the library.



What does your Winter TBR look like? 

25 November 2017

BookiskRealmReviews & Film #2


Happy Saturday Everyone! I hope all my US readers had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I'm back today with another look at some movies and TV shows I've watched or I'm currently watching! I hope you enjoy. : ) Let me know in the comments what you are currently watching! 


Movies 


For some reason this past week I was craving the Harry Potter films. I don't have the first three films so I decided to go with watching HP & The Goblet of Fire. Ironically, this is my favorite book out of the series and my favorite movie. I really enjoyed learning about and seeing witches and wizards from other schools. It just adds a really fun and engaging element to the story. This movie adaptation isn't the best because a lot of different elements of the book are left out; however, I enjoy it every time I watch it. Shortly after I watched HP & The Order of the Phoenix which isn't my favorite book or movie, but is definitely extremely important to the overall plot of the books and films. I'm really interested in re-reading this book and watching the film again to see how close they are to each other.



Girls Trip was hilarious! I was not expecting it to be that funny, but then again I had to remember who was in the film. It definitely tackles some major issues, but its all about girl power and friendship and I'm always here for that. It was great and I definitely recommend it as a light film to enjoy. After watching Girls Trip I definitely wanted something a little more suspenseful so I decided to watch The Gift. It was interesting and suspenseful and everything I needed in a psychological thriller. I can't say anything about it because I will spoil it for viewers. Definitely check it out.

TV Shows



I took a break on watching 7th Heaven season 4 and decided to re-watch Downton Abbey. I can't remember where I stopped with the series so I just decided to pick back up with season 2 because I can remember everything from season 1. It's a classic and I'm sure most of you have seen it, but if you haven't I definitely recommend picking it up. 

What have you watched or what are you currently watching??

24 November 2017

Friday #56, #43 Amour Amour by Krista & Becca Ritchie

The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!

Happy Reading!!






Series: Aerial Ethereal 
# of Pages: 347 
Publication: December 12th, 2014
Source: Kindle Copy 
Genre: New Adult 
Goodreads | Amazon 

Love is a circus "Every day,” he says lowly, “I hold a person’s life in my hands. The circus is based one-hundred percent off trust. I give it all to someone, and they give it all to me.” The best aerial technique won’t land 21-year-old Thora James her dream role in Amour—a sexy new acrobatic show on the Vegas strip. Thora knows she’s out of her element the second she meets Amour’s leading performer. Confident, charming and devilishly captivating, 26-year-old Nikolai Kotova lives up to his nickname as the “God of Russia.” When Thora unknowingly walks into the crosshairs of Nikolai’s after-show, her audition process begins way too soon. Unprofessional. That’s what Nik calls their “non-existent” relationship. It’s not like Thora can avoid him. For one, they may be partners in the future—acrobatic partners, that is. But getting closer to Nik means diving deeper into sin city and into his dizzying world. Thora wants to perform with him, but when someone like Nikolai attracts the spotlight wherever he goes—Thora fears that she’s destined to be just background to his spellbinding show. This sexy and exhilarating New Adult Romance can best be described as Cirque du Soleil meets the steamy, athletic romance of Center Stage. *standalone & no love triangles—recommended for readers 18+ for mature content*

So this week I'm working on a NA book because I needed a break from reading solely school related material. I'm not that far into the book; however, I love the Addicted Series and the Calloway Sisters Series by Krista & Becca Ritchie so I'm sure I'm going to enjoy this one. This will be my first time reading a book with a circus related element so I'm really excited. Once I finish I definitely will be doing a full review.

"He kisses me, and I almost drop the hangers in a daze. If his eyes are hell, his tongue is heaven, and I would gladly return. I walk backwards with him, my lips stinging and my body aching. His hand falls to my hip, and it crosses my mind—he’s guiding me."

22 November 2017

Author Interview: Linda Fairstein

Happy Wednesday everyone!! It's almost time for Thanksgiving and I cannot believe it! This year has completely flown by; however, today I got the most amazing opportunity to interview New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein! Last fall Linda Fairstein introduced the plucky, 12-year-old sleuth Devlin Quick to young readers in her first book, Into the Lion’s Den in her popular Devlin Quick mystery series. Devlin Quick returned this November in DIGGING FOR TROUBLE: A DEVLIN QUICK MYSTERY (Dial Books for Young Readers; on sale November 7, 2017) as a modern-day Nancy Drew determined to solve mysteries. Keep reading to find out more about the author, the book, her answers to my interview questions! 





Series: Devlin Quick
# of Pages: 336
Publication: November 7, 2017 
Source: Copy from Publisher
Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository


Twelve-year-old supersleuth Devlin Quick heads to Montana to dig out dinosaur bones, but instead she uncovers a mystery. After successfully apprehending a map thief at the beginning of summer, Dev is going to spend the second half of her summer vacation in Montana with her best friend, Katie, exploring the outdoors and NOT getting into trouble. But after participating in a dinosaur dig, Katie and Dev suspect that someone bad is in the Badlands when Katie's found fossils are switched out for old rocks. The good news? With Mom back in New York, no one can stop Devlin from investigating! But the fossil thief isn't the only danger here, as snakes, scorpions, and bears abound, making Montana a treacherous place for finding answers. And when the mystery takes Dev and Katie back to Manhattan--to the Museum of Natural History--the case gets even more complicated, even with Dev's friend Booker there to help. Dev has to use her brains, brawn, and yes, okay, the lessons learned from her police commissioner mother if she wants to dig up the truth once and for all.



Ashley: What inspired you to use dinosaurs in this book?

Linda: As a kid, the first great institution I fell in love with was Manhattan’s AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY.  It’s the place I discovered dinosaur fossils and skeletons, and I’ve gone back with every kid – family and friends – over the decades as the knowledge about these giants and the exhibits depicting them have evolved.  Most kids I know are fascinated with dinosaurs, so that part was a natural.  In summer, I spend time every July in Montana, which is home to the largest fossil deposits in North America.  Someday I hope to participate in a dig, but until then Devlin Quick took on that fictional role for me in DIGGING FOR TROUBLE.

AshleyWhat was your favorite book as a child?

Linda: The first book that captured my heart was a volume of Robert Louis Stevenson’s A CHILD’S GARDEN OF VERSES.  I loved the sing-song rhythm of his poems, and it was what my mother often used to read me to sleep.  I think that once I learned to read for myself, my pre-adolescent choice will always remain Louisa May Alcott’s LITTLE WOMEN.

AshleyHow did you select the names of the characters?

Linda: As most writers come to realize, their choices of character names are very important.  We want readers to identify with them, to like our protagonists and fear our villains.  I sometimes use the names of good friends, as a tribute to them.  In this case, DEVLIN is the name of one of my favorite characters in a very old Hitchcock movie – NOTORIOUS.  Cary Grant’s character was called Devlin.  It’s a strong name and an unusual one, and since my Devlin is named for her father, I grabbed it to give to her.

AshleyWhat makes writing a children’s book different from writing a book for adults?

Linda: There are a lot of differences between writing for adults and writing for children.  One is that the vocabulary has to be something that a 10-12 year old kid would use, and so that can be very different.  For me, the plotting is much more fun because my adult mysteries involve murder and very sophisticated forensics, while the kids’ series don’t have that life-and-death intensity.  There is also a lot more light-hearted humor in DIGGING FOR TROUBLE than in DEADFALL, my most recent thriller.  I stay keenly aware of the fact that my audiences for each series is quite different.

Ashley: Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer or is writing your sole job/career for the moment?

Linda: When I started to write fiction in 1996, I was still a prosecutor in the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office.  I stepped down from that job in 2002 to write full time, which I do.  But I am still passionate about the issues facing victims of violence, so I keep my license to practice law and accept some cases from time to time.

Ashley: Did any children’s mystery books inspire you to start this series?

Linda: Both of my careers – in law and in literature – were inspired by my devotion to Nancy Drew when I was a young reader.  I envied her courage and her independence, and her loyal group of friends who helped her solve crimes.  My decision to create a twelve-year old sleuth named Devlin Quick is a tribute to my affection for Nancy Drew.

Ashley: What is your favorite part of this book? (Spoiler free if you can haha)


Linda: My favorite part of DIGGING FOR TROUBLE was trying to imagine a situation that would create some peril for smart young kids involved in a dino dig.  I wanted them to encounter a bad situation that could be unraveled by their brains and their moxie, along with a good dose of knowledge about fossils picked up along the way.  I love plotting Dev’s capers.

Thank you so much to Linda for that interview! I really enjoyed learning more about her books and her as an author. If you want to know more about Linda keep reading below! 




Linda Fairstein is best known as the internationally bestselling author of the Alex Cooper mystery series for adults, which have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She first dreamed of writing mysteries in the sixth grade. A voracious reader of Nancy Drew, Linda penned her first caper for kids, The Secret of Apple Tree Farm at the age of 11. Last fall, Fairstein returned to her childhood passion with the publication of Into the Lion’s Den. Prior to writing, Linda worked at the Manhattan District Attorney's office as the head of the Special Victims Unit from 1976 to 2002. She lives in Manhattan, Martha’s Vineyard, and Big Timber, Montana.




20 November 2017

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Series: Royals
# of Pages: 370
Publication: April 4th, 2016
Source: Library Copy
Goodreads | Amazon

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself. These Royals will ruin you… Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from. Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals. He might be right. Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.




This was not by any means the best book in the world. It's what I like to call a guilty pleasure or my favorite trashy romance. Before reading this book I heard my fair share of complaints from people who absolutely hated the book. However, I personally love to read controversial books and figure out what elements make people hate them so much. For this book, I saw a lot of complaints about the relationship between Ella and Reed. It's labeled as being abusive and sexist and quite frankly based on Reed's behavior it does take on that nature. I didn't find anything about his relationship with Ella to be romantic. He was a complete jerk to her UNTIL certain elements of their relationship change. That by no means addresses or excuses the nastiness that came with his personality; however, for some reason I still enjoyed the book. I can't necessarily pin point what it was. It could have been anything from how easy it was to read it to the drama that the Royal family constantly encountered. And let me tell you, Erin Watt knows how to write a good cliffhanger. As I'm writing this review, I have already made it through the first three books of the series and plan to start the fourth one sometime soon.

There really isn't anything positive to write about this first book. There's a lot of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. There are addiction issues that are not addressed, foul language used with people who do not deserve it, women who are looked down upon because they're women. It's a tragedy of a storyline and pretty crappy writing, BUT I freaking love this series! Like I stated earlier, I can not pinpoint why I really like the series except the fact that I genuinely enjoy a good trashy romance every now and then. I would definitely say that this book is not for everybody. And it is problematic to the point that it could bother anyone; however, while I saw the issues I still finished the book and instantly picked up the second one.

If you look at the rating below and then read the narrative that I just wrote, you're probably confused as to why the book was rated so low. Regardless of my enjoyment of the book, I cannot in good faith recommend such a problematic book. This does not mean that no one should read it; however, it does mean that I can't give it a high rating. Additionally, I don't think that this book is young adult. If anything I would classify it as new adult. The sex scenes are too explicit for it to be classified as young adult. Overall, not a great book; however, I definitely have made it into my guilty, trashy pleasure.




19 November 2017

Sunday Post #12


Happy Sunday fellow bloggers and readers. I am back with another Sunday post hosted by the lovely caffeinated book reviewer


Okay let's start with my week in a complete recap. Things have kind of slowed down at work because a branch that was closed just reopened so the customers that were coming to us are headed back to their home branch. School is finally winding down. I just turned in a twenty-eight page paper for one of my classes so I'm happy to start winding down. It's been a rough couple of weeks, but I have faith everything will be okay. With Thanksgiving approaching this week I'll be happy to get away and spend some time with family. 







The Sun Is Also A Star (5 stars) was AMAZING! I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed this book considering I'm not a fan of insta-love, but Nicola Yoon did such an amazing job. I think that everything about this book worked. I'm glad I took the chance to pick this up because I was going to bypass it since I didn't really like Everything, Everything. The Deep #1 (3 stars) was a random issue that I checked out on Hoopla via my library. It was published by Kaboom so I thought I would give it a try. It was pretty good. I have to read a few more issues to see how I really feel about it. Sleep Well Siba & Saba (4 Stars) was a picture book I intentionally decided to pick up. It was published by Lantana. They are a publishing company that focuses on diverse books. This is the second picture book that I've read from them and it is was AMAZING. If you're looking for diverse picture books, I would recommend checking them out. 


  • Paper Princess (The Royals #1) Review 
  • Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Books I'm Thankful For
  • Author Interview: Linda Fairstein
  • Naruto Vol. 1 Review 
  • Friday #56 
  • BookishRealmReviews & Film 




How has your week gone? Let me know in the comments below.