01 June 2015

Author Spotlight: Rick Riordan

Name: Richard Russel "Rick" Riordan

About Author: Best known for his ability to incorporate mythology into spell-binding novels, Rick Riordan has become a world-renowned author. Born in San Antonio, Texas, Rick has successfully developed several different series that were initialed inspired by his children as a bed-time story.

Published Works:

  • Percy Jackson & The Olympians 
    • The Lightning Thief (2005)
    • The Sea of Monsters (2006)
    • The Titan's Curse (2007)
    • The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008)
    • The Last Olympian (2009)
  • The Heroes of Olympus
    • The Lost Hero (2010)
    • The Sun of Neptune (2011)
    • The Mark of Athena (2012)
    • The House of Hades (2013)
    • The Blood of Olympus (2014)
  • The Kane Chronicles
    • The Red Pyramid (2010)
    • The Throne of Fire (2011)
    • The Serpent's Shadow (2012)
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard
    • The Sword of Summer (Fall 2015)
  • Tres Navarre Series
    • Big Red Tequila (1997)
    • The Widower's Two Step (1998)
    • The Last King of Texas (2001)
    • The Devil Went Down to Austin (2002)
    • Southtown (2004)
    • Mission Road (2005)
    • Rebel Island (2008)
My Recommendation: Rick Riordan is turning out to be one of my new favorite authors. His stories not only exhibit fantastic world building, but they also illustrate his ability to pay attention to the smallest of details. If you are looking for books that not only exhibit adventure, passion, but also humor look no further than this author. Although most of his books are written and published as middle grade novels, it is without a doubt that Riordan has written books to captivate the world. 


Post a Comment