20 August 2018

Henry and the Hidden Treasure by B.C.R Fegan

Series: N/A
# of Pages: 32
Publication: August 3rd, 2017
Source: E-Book Review Copy
Genre: Children, Picture Book
Goodreads | Amazon 

Henry and the Hidden Treasure is an imaginative adventure a young child has in defending his pocket money against his little sister. Henry constructs elaborate defensive measures that he is sure will stand up to the clever ambitions of Lucy. Little does he know, Lucy has a few tricks of her own. With a focus on introducing children to the use of ordinal numbers, Henry and the Hidden Treasure also draws out some important qualities of being a kid – such as creativity, the value of listening to parental advice, and of course, being nice to your sister.


I received this book from TaleDale Press for an honest review. Thank you to them and the author for providing me with this opportunity. Like I state in all of my book reviews, I'm a huge fan of picture books. I currently work for the library so reading picture books is such an integral part of my job especially when families come in looking for new and exciting books. Once again, I found B.C.R Fegan's work to be enjoyable. This picture book focused on a brother, sister dynamic and I think that it would be great for those children that are learning to be an older brother or sister. The main character, Henry, is so focused on hiding his treasure from his sister Lucy that he devises a whole scheme to keep her from it. Unfortunately, things do not go as planned and Henry realizes that Lucy has more in store than just taking his treasure. I loved that Henry was exposed to the danger of making assumptions. I think this happens quite frequently between siblings. 

One of my other favorite aspects of this picture book was the artwork. I need to ask some questions about whether it is done digitally; however, I absolutely love it. It clearly evokes the meaning of the story and adds more to Henry's desire to protect his treasure. I loved the illustrations of the various monsters/creatures. The illustrations of the monsters held true to their origins, but somehow also made them appear cute. It was an interesting and fun dynamic. 

Overall, this was another great picture book by B.C.R. Fegan and I look forward to reading more from this author. 



15 August 2018

Waiting on Wednesday, #45 The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.

Series: N/A
# of Pages: 336
Publication: October 30th, 2018
Goodreads 
When freelance writer Nikole Paterson goes to a Dodgers game with her actor boyfriend, his man bun, and his bros, the last thing she expects is a scoreboard proposal. Saying no isn't the hard part--they've only been dating for five months, and he can't even spell her name correctly. The hard part is having to face a stadium full of disappointed fans... At the game with his sister, Carlos Ibarra comes to Nik's rescue and rushes her away from a camera crew. He's even there for her when the video goes viral and Nik's social media blows up--in a bad way. Nik knows that in the wilds of LA, a handsome doctor like Carlos can't be looking for anything serious, so she embarks on an epic rebound with him, filled with food, fun, and fantastic sex. But when their glorified hookups start breaking the rules, one of them has to be smart enough to put on the brakes...

This is a book I'm definitely look forward to simply because of the fact that it is by Jasmine Guillory. I've heard amazing things about her book The Wedding Date which I plan to read this weekend. I think I burned myself out on fantasy and sci-fi books so I've been reading a lot of mystery and romance. If you've read her book please let me know what you thought in the comments section below. What are you waiting for this Wednesday?

10 August 2018

Friday #56, #51 The Secret of the Old Clock


The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!

Happy Reading!!


Series: Nancy Drew, #1
# of Pages: 180
Publication: 1930
Genre: Mystery
Source: Library Copy
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository 

A special treat for Nancy Drew fans, and any reader who's new to the series! We're releasing a stunning new edition of an old favorite: The Secret of the Old Clock, the first book in the incredibly popular, long-running series. It's the same exciting mystery that readers have fallen in love with for more than 80 years—Nancy Drew has to help Mr. Crowly's friends find his missing will, before the evil Topham family steals his full inheritance. Now with a brand-new look, this is an edition that collectors won't want to miss!


I'm currently reading this not only because I've desperately been in the mood for good mystery books, but also because I'm trying to refresh myself on some of my favorite childhood books and write reviews for them on this blog. I used to love the Nancy Drew series growing up so I'm definitely invested in re-reading as many of them as I can.

"At the Drew home that evening there were mixed emotions on everyone's part. Hannah Gruen had taken a great fancy to the Hoover sisters and the news of Allison's talent had thrilled her, as well as the girls. Conversation at supper was gay and animated. Nancy and Mrs. Gruen drove the sisters to their farm and on parting Nancy again promised to do all she could to help find a will from which the girls might possibly benefit." 
What are you reading this Friday/Weekend? 

09 August 2018

Paper Girls Vol.1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Series: Paper Girls (Vol. 1)
# of Pages: 144
Publication: April 5th, 2016
Source: Library E-Book
Genre: Science-Fiction
Goodreads | Amazon 

In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.








If you can’t already tell (which you probably can’t unless you follow me on Goodreads) I am a huge fan of Brian K Vaughn. I’ve read a few of his series including Y: The Last Man, Saga, and the Runaways. This is a new one that I wanted to try out and I’m so happy I did. This first volume of this series has adventure, action, and mystery. While I did get a little confused, I know that this first volume was mainly designed to build the world and the plot.

If you haven’t heard of Paper Girls it’s centered around four 12 year old girls in the 80s (this was already the perfect comic for me because I’m literally obsessed with the 80s) who share the same paper route. Early in the morning they begin to encounter some really strange things, things that they cannot explain. I won’t lie and say this is initial plot isn’t quite confusing because it is. It includes some elements of time travel that make it hard to figure out what and who everyone really is. However, what I loved about this first volume was the opportunity that the reader has to get to know the personalities of the four main characters. They are very much alike but different at the same time. I loved that while reading the comic, the reader has the opportunity to get to know each and every one of the main characters which is extremely important in this series.

The only criticism that I have for this series is that
the plot is rather confusing. It contains elements found in science fiction writing and because it is in graphic form it takes a while for the plot to completely unfold and make sense. Even by the end of the graphic novel, the reader is still left with so many questions that are answered in subsequent volumes. Nevertheless, I did want to point out that anyone who reads this comic should have patience with the writing and the plot. Brian K. Vaughn has a gift for world and plot building and you have to continue to read his series in order to get a good understanding of the direction he’s leading his characters in.

Overall, this is such a fascinating series. As I’m writing this review, I’ve already read the second volume and I’m absolutely loving this series. If you enjoy Brian K. Vaughn as a comic book writer then I would definitely recommend checking this one out. I believe that this is the third or fourth series of his that I have started and plan to follow and finish.


08 August 2018

Waiting on Wednesday, #44 Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren



Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.

Series: N/A
# of Pages: 320
Publication: September 4th, 2018
Goodreads

Hazel Camille Bradford knows she’s a lot to take—and frankly, most men aren’t up to the challenge. If her army of pets and thrill for the absurd don’t send them running, her lack of filter means she’ll say exactly the wrong thing in a delicate moment. Their loss. She’s a good soul in search of honest fun. Josh Im has known Hazel since college, where her zany playfulness proved completely incompatible with his mellow restraint. From the first night they met—when she gracelessly threw up on his shoes—to when she sent him an unintelligible email while in a post-surgical haze, Josh has always thought of Hazel more as a spectacle than a peer. But now, ten years later, after a cheating girlfriend has turned his life upside down, going out with Hazel is a breath of fresh air. Not that Josh and Hazel date. At least, not each other. Because setting each other up on progressively terrible double blind dates means there’s nothing between them...right?

So, technically I haven't read any of Christina Lauren's books; however, they sound amazing. I currently have two of them checked out as audiobooks from the library and I'm really looking forward to reading them. If you've read any of her books please let me know in the comments below. I've heard some really good things and I really anticipate reading a lot of her works.

What are you waiting for this Wednesday?

26 July 2018

Ice Cream Man Vol. 1 by W. Maxwell Prince

Series: Ice Cream Man (Vol. 1)
# of Pages: 144
Publication: June 26th, 2018
Source: Library E-Book
Genre: Fantasy/Horror
Goodreads | Amazon 

Chocolate, vanilla, existential horror, addiction, musical fantasy...there’s a flavor for everyone’s misery. ICE CREAM MAN is a genre-defying comic book series, featuring disparate “one-shot” tales of sorrow, wonder, and redemption. Each installment features its own cast of strange characters, dealing with their own special sundae of suffering. And on the periphery of all of them, like the twinkly music of his colorful truck, is the Ice Cream Man—a weaver of stories, a purveyor of sweet treats. Friend. Foe. God. Demon. The man who with a snap of his fingers—lickety split!—can change the course of your life forever.


I was so happy when I was able find a copy of the first volume of this comic through my library’s subscription of Hoopla. I saw the cover and synopsis when I was scrolling through the newly released comics and graphic novels on Goodreads. Ice Cream Man is a twisted and rather disturbing take of the man that is supposed to provide the community with sweet treats. Instead this version of the ice cream man preys on the insecurities of humans and uses it to kill and I assume claim their souls. While it was confusing at first, I think I got the gist of the story.

The plot is divided into 4 separate stories of characters who have lost ambition, drive, or have been manipulated in some form or fashion. Through the ice cream mans manipulation they either kill other people or kill themselves. I won’t go into much detail because of spoilers but the moral issues laid out within each issue is pretty interesting. I found the plot hard to follow at some points because I wasn’t sure how the ice cream man played a part, but when I kept reading I think I began to understand how he turns the life of people up side down by preying on their insecurities whether it’s loss of fame and fortune, drug addiction, abandonment, etc. he’s always there to make the matters worse and force people to make decisions that they are ultimately incapable of making due to serious self esteem issues.

The artwork was intriguing. I wish I could describe how the faces are drawn but I can’t so I’ll just have to include some pictures. For the most part it’s simplistic but ultimately captures the dread and fear of all the people who encounter the ice cream man. I also love that bright colors were used to illustrate the scenes involving the ice cream man. It illustrated a unique connection to the wide colors and variety of ice cream that an ice cream man can serve. It was twisted to be honest but I’m pretty sure that’s the point of the entire comic.



    While I wanted to give the comic five stars, I felt as though parts of it were too disjointed and presented some issues in reference to my understanding the text in its entirety; however, I did enjoy it and I’m looking forward to see what the next volume has to offer. 



    25 July 2018

    Can't Wait Wednesday, #33 What If It's Us by Beck Albertalli & Adam Silvera


    Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.

    Series: N/A
    # of Pages: 448
    Publication: October 19th, 2018
    Goodreads
    Arthur is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it’s that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it. Ben thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn’t be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend’s things. But when Arthur and Ben meet-cute at the post office, what exactly does the universe have in store for them? Maybe nothing. After all, they get separated. Maybe everything. After all, they get reunited. But what if they can’t quite nail a first date . . . or a second first date . . . or a third? What if Arthur tries too hard to make it work . . . and Ben doesn’t try hard enough? What if life really isn’t like a Broadway play? But what if it is?

    This book is the author partnership that I've been waiting for. I enjoy both Adam and Becky and I'm so happy that they actually worked together to write a book. It sounds so cute and adorable and I'm sure that the book is going to be brilliant. I also heard that there are Easter eggs in the book for their past books so I'm excited to pick up on that.

    What are you looking forward to this Wednesday?