09 August 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #13, Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at WishfulEndings. She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.



Expected Publication: February 27, 2018 

I read Ashley's Geekerella this year and completely enjoyed it so when I head that she was coming out with a new book I really wanted to check it out. From my understanding it's a futuristic take on the tale of Anatasia which really intrigues me. I hope that I will enjoy it as much as Geekerella and I must say the cover is simply gorgeous. 



Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

08 August 2017

Top 10 Tuesday: Top Comics I've Read In 2017 (So Far)



Hey everybody! I know I haven't been present the past few days, but that's simply because of the fact that I've had a heck of a lot going on and unfortunately that led me to become not only stressed out, but extremely depressed. Hopefully, that will all change in the next couple of days! :) I know that Top 10 Tuesday won't officially be back until next week; however, I decided to do a topic of my own. I want to share the Top 10 comics I've read so far in 2017. Keep reading if you want to see my
choices.



Monstress Vol. 1: I picked this comic up on a whim and I must say that the artwork and the storyline were most fascinating and I'm glad I got the opportunity to read it. Giat Days: I've read the first 5 volumes of this amazing series and I must say I love it! It's the best comic book series that I've read in a while and it doesn't focus on action just character development which is great. Lady Killer: I didn't know anything about this comic until it was recommended to me by someone at my job. It's a mix of 1950s culture and various assassins. It's definitely one of the most interesting concepts I've seen so far this year.


I Hate Fairyland: This comic is the funniest comic I have ever read in my lifetime. It's crude and I absolutely love it. I thought that this series was aimed at children, but I quickly learned how incorrect that assessment was when I read the first page. This is probably my most recommended comic of the year. The Beauty: Like Lady Killer, I found this comic to be an interesting concept in which a STD changes people into beautiful/perfect human beings until they spontaneously combust. It's weird, but definitely worth a read. Girls: I was familiar with one of the Luna brothers through the time that I spent reading Alex + Ada so I instantly wanted to try this comic. I was in for a major surprise. The comic focuses on a group of alien women who multiple and lay eggs when they have sex with the men of the town. It's extremely weird, but for some odd reason I enjoyed it.

Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur Vol. 2: When I read the first volume of this series I simply thought that it was ok; however, by the time that I got to this volume I thought it was fantastic. It focuses on a main character of color and her ability to be a genius in pretty much anything and to transfer places with her pet dinosaur. Archie: I'd never read any Archie comics before the release of these new ones; however, it definitely has sparked my interest and now I'm reading as many Archie comics as possible! Bitch Planet: I don't have anything to say about this one. Just know that you definitely need to read it and as soon as possible.

Revival: At some points this comic can get kind of confusing; however, this one is definitely worth working through and should be read by fans of the Walking Dead

04 August 2017

Friday #56, #37 History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!




Happy Reading!!! 



So this week I'm working on reading History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. I absolutely love him as a person and as a writer so I have no idea why it's taken me so long to read this book. I know that I'm going to enjoy it and at the same time I'm sure it's going to break my heart. I love the dialogue so far and I'm also really enjoying the fact that it's written as if our main character is talking to his deceased boyfriend at all times. It's amazing! 

"I don't like where this is going. Someone's going to say something stupid, something unforgivable. I'm still anxious from the three questions Jackson asked that pretty much started this mess. I'm openly scratching my palms on the table, hoping Jackson will notice and cease fire."


When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.




03 August 2017

One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus (Video Review)




Publication: May 30th, 2017 
# of Pages: 370 
Source: Library 
Genre: Mystery/Contemporary 


One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.


Hey guys so I'm back with ANOTHER video review haha! I know I've been doing a lot of them, but I've been doing a lot of them in terms of my channel so I definitely think it's best to share them on here. Let me know what you think about it and if you enjoy this format. I really enjoyed One of Us Is Lying simply because it had a mysterious elements that I couldn't guess until the very end; nevertheless, there were some elements about the book that I didn't necessarily like.  If you're interested in hearing more check out my video down below: 




31 July 2017

A Month in Review: July

Once again I have had a brilliant reading month! I read a whole lot this month and I was super shocked at how much I enjoyed most of the stuff I read. Work has been crazy, but fortunately I'm becoming adjusted to it. I made a major life decision to go vegan and it's been a journey. I must say I have been feeling better so this is something I definitely want to continue. Keep reading to see what I've made it through this month!




These were some of my favorites for the month. Keep reading to see the full list!


  • A Court of Thorns & Roses 
  • Komomo Confiserie Vol. 3
  • Giant Days Vol. 4
  • The Bear Ate Your Sandwich 
  • First Grade Drop Out
  • The Secrets We Keep 
  • Fresh Romance Vol. 1
  • Everything, Everything 
  • Serafina & The Black Cloak 
  • A List of Cages 
  • One of Us Is Lying 
  • Preacher Vol. 1
  • Nooks & Crannies
  • Lumberjanes Vol. 2
  • Saga, Vol. 7 
  • When Dimple Met Rishi 
  • Birthright Vol. 1
  • Harry Potter & The Sorcerers Stone
  • Geekerella 
  • The End of Oz
  • Stef Soto Taco Queen 
  • Giant Days. Vol 5
  • All American Boys 
  • Monster Vol. 1
  • Masterminds: Payback 
Okay so I noticed that I'm still mainly readers authors from the US, but I must say a lot of them have been containing diverse characters so I may actually start keeping track of that information. I think it'll be good to see what types of characters I'm reading about. I read a lot of YA and honestly I'm not sure why. I haven't been reading that much YA, but for some reason this month I was all about getting through some YA books haha ! And I actually read some picture books! Thank goodness. Overall, this was a good month even in terms of rating. I pretty much enjoyed everything I read with the exception of one book which ended up receiving two stars. 

This month I read a total of 6120 pages which is the most I've read all year. That number is mind blowing to me. That means on average I was reading almost 200 pages a day! That brings my total for the year up to 28,581 pages! 

Here's what I posted on the blog this month! 


I hope everyone had a fantastic July!! 

27 July 2017

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (Video Review)


Publication: May 30th, 2017 
# of Pages: 380 
Source: Library 
Genre: Contemporary 


Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.




Hey guys so I'm back with another video review! I think that whenever I post a review of my books on my YouTube channel then I'll definitely transfer the review to this page. It seems like the most logical thing to do. Anyway with that being said here is another review that I did of When Dimple Met Rishi. Although I enjoyed the book, I found the ending to be a little too long and I actually found myself skimming through some pages. If you're a huge fan of contemporary then I think that you'll find this book enjoyable.




24 July 2017

The End of Oz by Danielle Paige



Published: March 14, 2017 
# of Pages: 304 
Source: Library Copy 
Genre: YA Fantasy
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository 


Ding dong—Dorothy is dead.

I watched as the Emerald Palace crumbled to the ground, burying Dorothy, the Girl Who Rode the Cyclone, under the rubble. And now that the rightful ruler, Ozma, has been restored to the throne…

Oz is finally free.

My name is Amy Gumm. You might remember me as the othergirl from Kansas. When a tornado whisked me away to the magical land of Oz, I was given a mission: Dorothy must die.

But it turns out girls from Kansas are harder to kill than we look.

Now the Road of Yellow Brick is leading me away from Oz to the dark world of Ev, where I have a new, powerful enemy to deal with: the Nome King. And—surprise—he has a gingham-clad bride.

With my magical shoes and a shrinking group of allies, I have one final chance to fulfill my mission, and save not only what’s left of Oz, but Kansas, too. As the line between Good and Wicked blurs even further, I have to find a way to get rid of Dorothy once and for all—without turning into a monster myself.

Dorothy once said there’s no place like home. Can I stop her from destroying mine?


This conclusion of the Dorothy Must Die series was definitely a tad bit different than the picture I painted in my head; however, I must say that it was well-written and contained a much better story-line than the third book. It still doesn't hold a candle to the first two books; however, it was an interesting conclusion with unexpected twists and turns. 

One of the most engaging aspects of this books definitely came in the form of a living and breathing Dorothy. Not only has the wicked, cruel woman survived, but she also gets her own perspective. At first, reading and getting a grasp of Dorothy's voice proved to be rather difficult; however, for some odd reason I grew adjusted to it and actually enjoyed her ridiculous perspective of everything that was occurring around her. She was just as clueless and self-absorbed as she was in the first few books and I ABSOLUTLEY LOVED IT! I know it may sound weird that I actually enjoyed a character that was all about self; however, you must understand Dorothy's extremely awkward sense of humor. She's crass, selfish, conceited, and just around awful, but it's hilarious and I was definitely glad to see her back in the action. We are also introduced to some new characters that I definitely enjoyed seeing incorporated into the framework of the story. 

Unfortunately what I didn't necessarily enjoy about the book came from the fact that the series was three books. Once again, I didn't think or feel like that was necessary to the development of the plot. I still, in this moment, do not understand the inclusion of the Nome King to the series. Granted he plays a role in the original books by Frank L. Baum; however, he just didn't seem to serve a purpose in this book. We, as readers, find out that he's after Dorothy's shoes, but we never learn if he can even truly utilize them to his full advantage. There were a lot of loose strings concerning this character and quite frankly it really seemed as though he was added as filler. Thankfully, it wasn't as bad to see him incorporated into this book as the one before. 

Overall, I think that this conclusions illustrated the better aspects of Danielle Paige's writing. The plot was quick-paced, there was a lot of humor, and just enough darkness to make the story twisted. Nevertheless, I don't think I'll every be as enthralled as I was with the first book. If you enjoyed the series I would definitely recommend reading this book for the simple fact that it does contain a lot of good elements that the third book missed. There are new characters, some romance, adventure, and new revelations: everything that a conclusion should contain. Nevertheless, I have this feeling we may see more from this world in the future. There are still some unanswered questions about both Kansas and Oz.