19 October 2017

I Am Gandi & I Am Sacagawea by Brad Metlzer - Blog Tour


Happy Thursday Everyone! We've almost made it to the end of week. I hope everyone has had a fun, productive, and stress-free week so far. Today I'm a part of the blog tour through Penguin Young Readers showcasing two children's non-fiction books including I am Gandi and I am Sacagawea. Keep reading for more my thoughts and more information about the books.



Publication: October 3rd, 2017
# of Pages: N/A
Source: Copy from Publisher*

**All thoughts are my own and are by no means influenced by my access to a copy of this book.


As a young man in India, Gandhi saw firsthand how people were treated unfairly. Refusing to accept injustice, he came up with a brilliant way to fight back through quiet, peaceful protest. He took his methods with him from South Africa back to India, where he led a nonviolent revolution that freed his country from British rule. Through his calm, steady heroism, Gandhi changed everything for India and inspired civil rights movements all over the world, proving that the smallest of us can be the most powerful.

This friendly, fun biography series focuses on the traits that made our heroes great--the traits that kids can aspire to in order to live heroically themselves. Each book tells the story of one of America's icons in a lively, conversational way that works well for the youngest nonfiction readers and that always includes the hero's childhood influences. At the back are an excellent timeline and photos.


This was such a powerful book. I don't even think I know where to begin so I'll discuss it in sections. 

Artwork: The artwork was beautiful and rich in color. I never really took into consideration the idea of the artist using warm colors as the backdrop of this story, but it worked so well. I even appreciated the exaggeration of Ghandi on the cover. Eliopoulos stays with the concept/idea of keeping Ghandi small as the character states that in the beginning of the book. Overall, the artwork was amazing and definitely added to the overall feel of the story. 

Plot: This is a book that can be read by people of all ages. At first, I had an expectation that it would simply be fitting for a younger audience; however, as a young woman in her late 20's I found that I learned just as much as any young reader. Meltzer gives explicit details and information affiliated with Ghandi. I knew that Ghandi was the original creator of the concept of non-violence; however, I don't believe I realized to what extent he created the entire concept of non-violence and living a life that was based in simplicity. Even learning about the Salt Walk was new to me. It amazed me that something so small as a community of members walking to grab hand fulls of salt in protest of buying British salt could have such an amazing effect. I think that this is a book for all ages. If you've never experienced this book or haven't had the opportunity to pick it up I would definitely recommend it. Expect to learn a host of things related to Gandhi. 




Publication: October 3rd, 2017 
# of Pages: 40
Source: Copy from Publisher*

**All thoughts are my own and are by no means influenced by my access to a copy of this book. 


Sacagawea, the only Native American included in Lewis and Clark's historic expedition, joins the inspiring list of heroes whose stories are told in this New York Times Bestselling biography series.
Sacagawea was the only girl, and the only Native American, to join Lewis and Clark's Corps of Discovery, which explored the United States from the Mississippi River all the way to the Pacific Ocean in the early 1800s. As a translator, she helped the team communicate with members of the Shoshone tribe across the continent, carrying her child on her back the whole way. By the time the expedition arrived at the west coast, Sacagawea had proved that she truly was a trailblazer.

This friendly, fun biography series focuses on the traits that made our heroes great--the traits that kids can aspire to in order to live heroically themselves. Each book tells the story of one of America's icons in a lively, conversational way that works well for the youngest nonfiction readers and that always includes the hero's childhood influences. At the back are an excellent timeline and photos.


Another great edition to the Ordinary People Change the World series, I am Sacagawea gives great insight and details to the life of this young woman. What is most important about this book is its message. Young girls of all ages can be inspired by this book when they understand that a teenager who once was overlooked became one of the most well-known names in American history. She was courageous, fierce, kind, intelligent, and so much more. Even as an adult woman, it was great to read a story about another woman who brought about so much change when the world usually doubted her ability to accomplish anything outside of stereotypical duties. There is much to learn from this book in a historical and social sense. There were various aspects of the life of Sacagawea that I wasn't familiar with including the fact that she had a child so young and then had to take that child with her on the journey. I wasn't aware of the fact that she originally served as a translator and also a navigator. I also wasn't aware of the fact that she was able to reunite with her brother who became chief of their tribe. In addition to an excellent story, I found the artwork to be superb. It was nicely illustrated and it included enough text that it wasn't completely overwhelming. If you haven't checked out this book or any of the books in the series I would recommend getting them! They are AMAZING.  





Brad Meltzer is the New York Times bestselling author of Heroes for My SonHeroes for My Daughter, and a number of suspense novels like The House of Secrets. He is also the host of the History Channel television shows Brad Meltzer's Decoded and Brad Meltzer's Lost History. He lives in Florida with his wife and their three children.
 
Christopher Eliopoulos began his illustration career at Marvel Comics, and has worked on thousands of comics, including Franklin Richards: Son of a GeniusPet AvengersCow Boy, and Cosmic Commandos, all of which he wrote and illustrated. He lives in New Jersey with his wife and their identical twin sons.




11 October 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #17, Stell Diaz Has Something to Say by Angela Dominguez


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.


Expected Publication: January 16, 2018 

I'm really focused on reading nothing but diverse books in 2018 and this is one that I found. Like most of the books I have listed on my 2018 must reads list on Goodreads I have no idea where I found this book; however, I'm really excited to read it. The cover is simply gorgeous. I wish I could tell you guys more about the book; however, there isn't a summary listed on Goodreads just yet so I'll be happy to update this post whenever there is one posted. Until then just enjoy the cover! : ) 

10 October 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Fall Books (My Favs...)



Happy Tuesday Everyone! That means that it is time for another Top 10 Tuesday! This week's theme is built around the concept of fall. Everyone is asked to come up with 10 books that have fall cover's or themes.These books don't necessarily take place during the fall; however, their covers definitely scream fall. : )




 I Am The Messenger. This was definitely a great book. I listened to it on audiobook and absolutely fell in love with the concept. I know a lot of people have read The Book Thief; however, this one is definitely great. Dorothy Must Die Stories. If you're a fan of Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige then I would recommend checking out this compilation of novellas. The Battle of the Labyrinth. I mean it's Percy Jackson. There is no way that I could make this list without including at least one of the books.


More Happy Than Not. Adam Silvera's debut novel is fantastic. If you haven't read anything by him I would recommend starting here. Dragonfly In Amber. If you want to start this series just make sure you have some time to invest and devout to it. American Born Chinese. My library is currently deciding on whether to make this part of our adult book club series and I must say I'm really excited. It's been a while since I've read it, but just know that I've loved every single aspect of it.


Alex + Ada. This is a great comic book series if you're a fan of science fiction and futuristic tales. The Darkest Magic. Three words-just read it. Firefight. I think I pretty much fell in love with Brandon Sanderson because of this series. It's such a twisted view on superheroes and their role in society that you can't help but to enjoy it. I still haven't read the final book in the series, but that's because I don't want the series to end.



Stepping to A New Day. Okay, so I just want you guys to know that this is the 7th book in the series; however, it was completely and totally amazing. I loved it and I instantly asked my library to buy the first three books in the series. If you haven't read it definitely check out the first book.

What books do you guys like with fall colors or fall themes?

09 October 2017

A Second Look At Th1rt33n Reasons Why (Video Review)

Happy Monday everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying the beginning of the week. I've already run into some complications and it's not even that far into the week. Alas, it is the way the cookie crumbles. So today I wanted to look back and reanalyze my thoughts about Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I believe in my initial rating I gave the book about 3 or 3.5 stars. This time I gave it in between 4 and 4.5 stars. Below you'll find a video review that I did on my YouTube channel that focuses on a review of not only the book, but also the TV show. Enjoy !


Publication: October 18, 2017 
# of Pages: 288 
Source: Purchased Copy 


You can’t stop the future.
You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.


Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why. 

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.




06 October 2017

Friday #56, #40 The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!

Happy Reading!!


So this week I'm working on another book for grad school. We received certain categories and we had to pick a book from each category. For one of the categories I decided to pick the Book Thief. I've heard so many good things about this novel and I love anything that takes place during WWII. I also heard that it is heartbreaking so I'm trying to prepare myself for it. So far the book is really interesting and I'm truly enjoying it. If you haven't had the opportunity to read this book I definitely would recommend picking it up as soon as possible. 


"Whenever she walked to and from school now, Liesel was on the lookout for discarded items that might be valuable to a dying man. She wondered at first why it mattered so much. How could something so seemingly insignificant give comfort to someone. A ribbon in the gutter. A pinecone on the street. A button leaning casually against a classroom wall. A button leaning casually against a classroom wall. A flat round stone from the river. If nothing else, it showed that she cared, and it might give them something to talk about..." 


A story about, among other things: A girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul. Winner of the 2007 BookBrowse Ruby Award.

Winner of the 2007 BookBrowse Ruby Award. 

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist – books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau. This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.





05 October 2017

Ten Sheep to Sleep by Nidhi Kamra


Published: June 30th, 2017 
# of Pages: 22
Source: Review Copy from Author 



Sammy Jo counts ten sheep to put her to sleep, but tonight, ten more sheep appear. The new sheep are creating a ruckus. Sammy Jo has to find a way to calm the sheep down, count twenty sheep, and ensure everyone is happy so they can get a good night's sleep.

Suggested age range for readers: 5-8


This was definitely a great concept book. As a library assistant, I often see authors and illustrators develop counting books that focus on counting by ones. This book introduces a new concept: counting by twos. It definitely is great way to prepare those children who are learning more complex methods associated with math. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that concept applied towards the end of the book. One of the other interesting aspects of this book was the illustrations. They had an easy going flow to them that made them "perfectly imperfect." I could be wrong in my assumption but I'm pretty sure the illustrator used water color as the medium. Either way, the pictures turned out great and definitely remained associated with the content of the book. 

One of the best things about this book is the fact that it focuses on concept skills as well as problem solving skills. Our main character knows that she can't handle dealing with twenty sheep so she must develop a method that allows her to not only keep her sanity, but also allows every single sheep to stay. I definitely didn't expect to see that element; however, she actively came up with solutions and when they didn't work she started to develop new ones. I don't think people always realize how important problem solving skills can be especially during a child's development. The author did an amazing job incorporating that theme. I would recommend this to early elementary students and their parents. It would be a great book to read during the evening time. I personally would love a hardcover copy of this for the days I do morning and evening storytime at the library.


04 October 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #16: Flower Moon by Gina Linko



Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.


Expected Publication: January 2nd, 2018 

I think we can all agree that the cover of this book is absolutely amazing! I can't seem to remember how I found out about this book; however, it is listed on my 2018-must-reads list on Goodreads. It focuses on the story of two girls (mirror twins) who finally get the opportunity to be a part of a carnival, but they must figure out how to keep their relationship together. The book sounds interesting and I can't wait to sink into its pages and figure out exactly what happens. Let me know if you've heard of this book or if you're interested in reading it. 


Tempest and Tally Jo Trimble are mirror twins—so alike they were almost born the same person—and they've been inseparable since birth. But it's the summer they turn thirteen, and it seems like everyone can tell something is changing between them.

Pa Charlie, whose traveling carnival is the best part of every summer, is watching them closer than ever. Digger, who sneaks poor kids onto the carnival rides for free and smiles faster than anyone, seems to be fixing for a fight. Even Mama is acting different, refusing to travel with the carnival this year even though her own twin, who she hasn't seen since childhood, will be there.

And Tally and Tempest are the most different of all. There's a strangeness between them, a thickness to the air, an unseen push and pull, and it's getting stronger. It starts as a feeling, but soon it's sputtering and sparking, hurling them backwards, threatening to explode.

When Tally learns that she and Tempest may not be the first twins in their family to be separated by whatever this force is, she realizes she'll have to find a way to stop it—or she might lose not only her sister, but everyone she loves.