24 June 2017

Amina's Voice by Hena Khan



Published: March 14, 2017 
# of Pages: 208 
Source: Library Copy 


A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family’s vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade novel from the award-winning author of It’s Ramadan, Curious George and Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns.

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.” Does Amina need to start changing too? Or hiding who she is to fit in? While Amina grapples with these questions, she is devastated when her local mosque is vandalized.

Amina’s Voice brings to life the joys and challenges of a young Pakistani American and highlights the many ways in which one girl’s voice can help bring a diverse community together to love and support each other.
 


I've had my eyes on this book since the end of last year. It was extremely refreshing to find out that there was going to be a new children's book that focused on a young Pakistani-American Muslim girl and her experience in trying to remain true to her own culture while attempting to find her way into American culture. It was a beautifully written book that literally draws on various cultural aspects that teachers the reader a lot about learning to appreciate one's culture while learning and appreciating another. 

The writing in the book is simplistic and straight forward for readers between the ages of 8-12. As an adult, I felt that the context of the book was simple enough for young readers to understand, but not so simple that it lost its true meaning and beauty. One of the best parts of this book was the diversity of the characters. Our main character is Pakistani-American and Muslim and her best friend is Korean. Soojin, Amina's best friend, serves as a polarizing opposite. She, although proud of her Korean heritage, wants to assimilate to American culture through the changing of her name and the befriending other characters such as Emily. Amina; however, wishes to maintain and respect her Pakistani, Muslim roots. She finds her history, culture intriguing and unique. Interestingly enough, Amina finds problems in learning that some of her own family members do not care for certain aspects of American culture. It is this ideology that serves as a catalyst for Amina's internal conflict: simply stay true Pakistani, Muslim culture or interweave it into American culture. Khan does an amazing job  building and resolving this conflict. 

People often ask me why I enjoy reading diverse books or books about different cultures. It simply comes from the joy of reading about a culture and traditions outside of mine. This book is a perfect example of what it means to not only read and learn about a new culture, but also to watch a character grow and learn about themselves. This book contained that and so much more. The plot moved at a great pace. It's more character driven than plot so be aware of that when reading. This book didn't get a complete 5 stars from me because I wanted a little more of a cultural experience and the plot wrapped up a little too neatly. 

If you're interested in checking out a book that will give you a new perspective to a different culture I would definitely recommend checking this out. 



23 June 2017

Friday #56. #33 Dreadnought by April Daniels


The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!



Happy Reading! 

This week has been a lot calmer than last week and I'm happy for it. I'm doing this week's post a little late because I haven't been feeling to good this week, but I'm feeling a little better today. So I've been working on reading Dreadnought which focuses on a trans main character who becomes a superhero. So far it's pretty and I'm really enjoying it. I've seen mostly positive reviews so I'm hoping that I love the entire book as much as everyone else. Has anyone else read this book yet? 












Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero.

Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl. 

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny’s first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father’s dangerous obsession with “curing” her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she’s in over her head.

She doesn’t have much time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer—a cyborg named Utopia—still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

21 June 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #9, They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera




Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at WishfulEndings. She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.

Expected Publication: September 5, 2017

I'm a huge fan of Adam Silvera. I really appreciate him as a person and his style of writing. I read his book More Happy Than Not a while ago and loved it so much. I still haven't read his second book History Is You Left Me, but I'm definitely ready to read this one. I think we have a lot to look forward to him as a growing author. If you haven't read any of his work you can check out my review of More Happy than not here. 


On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.




20 June 2017

Top 10 Tuesday: Top 10 Series I Haven't Started Yet

Hey guys! It's Tuesday so that means another Top 10 Tuesday hosted by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic focuses on looking at the top 10 series we haven't started, but want to start. Considering I have a long list of series to choose from this topic was difficult to narrow down to 10. So here are my ten plus some runner ups haha ! : )



Shade of Magic. I've heard nothing but good things about this series and I feel like I'm the last person on the planet to pick it up. Blackhearts. There have been really mixed reviews about this book; however, I really want to pick up something that deals with pirates. Kane Chronicles. I'm a Rick Riordan junkie so there's no excuse as to why I haven't read this one. I just need to go ahead and start it.



Kitchen Princess. I'm a huge fan of food based manga so I have no clue why I haven't stared this series yet. Bill Hodges Trilogy. It's been a while since I've read anything by Steven King so I definitely want to get to some more of his stuff and I've heard that this trilogy is amazing. One Piece. All I can say is that it's one of the big three. It would so wrong for me not to at least try it.

Parasol Protectorate. I met Gail Carriger a few years ago and she was just an interesting and fun person. I have heard nothing but great things about this world and the characters. It's only right that I give it a try. Serafina. This series has been on my list for two years now. I really don't know what's stopping me from reading it. Grisha Trilogy. Everyone has read this series and the Six of Crows duology except me. It's a shame I haven't started it yet, but I currently have it on hold at the library so I'll be looking forward to reading it soon. 



Trials of Apollo. Another Rick Riordan that I haven't started yet. I'm falling behind and I need to catch up. 

Runner Ups: I won't do a description of these, but these books are parts of other series I would like to start. 










19 June 2017

DC Universe: Rebirth, Omnibus by Various Authors/Artists

Published: December 13, 2016
# of Pages: 476
Source: Library Copy 


In June 2016, DC Comics started each one of their comics from #1, preceded by a special Rebirth issue. Flagship titles such as SupermanBatmanJustice LeagueThe Flash, & Wonder Woman started anew, with a Rebirth special issue signaling the start of a new era.
Written and illustrated by top talent including Geoff Johns (Justice League) and many more top talents in the industry, the DC Universe: Rebirth, Omnibus is a perfect starting point for any new fan and a great gift item for any hardcore collector.

CollectingDC Universe: Rebirth, The Flash: Rebirth, Titans: Rebirth, Batman: Rebirth, Aquaman: Rebirth, Green Arrow: Rebirth, Justice League: Rebirth, Wonder Woman: Rebirth, Green Lanterns: Rebirth, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth, Nightwing: Rebirth, The Hellblazer: Rebirth, Superman: Rebirth, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth, Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth, Blue Beetle: Rebirth, Deathstroke: Rebirth, Supergirl: Rebirth, Suicide Squad: Rebirth, Batman Beyond: Rebirth, Cyborg: Rebirth, Teen Titans: Rebirth
 


So if you guys didn't know by now (which I'm sure you do) I'm a huge fan of comics. And when I say huge fan, I mean that no comic book is off limits to my range of curiosity. What I do struggle with however is keeping up with the two big companies DC and Marvel. While I love a good superhero comic, these two companies have been putting out comics for decades so it makes it particularly difficult to even know where to begin with their characters. I never know which story arc to address or which characters to begin with. Nevertheless, I attempted to keep up with DC's New 52 which was a reboot of their old lines. I did ok at first, but then I got confused again so with the launch of Rebirth I thought this would be the perfect opportunity for me to jump in and begin with a fresh line of characters. In doing this I decided to pick up their omnibus of the Rebirth issues of all their
characters. And I definitely can say it was an interesting journey. It's difficult to actually review this omnibus as a whole so I'm going to go through and tell you what I thought of each character's rebirth. It won't be long, just a few sentences about how I felt in regards to each read. 

  • DC 
  • Universe Rebirth #1: Holy crap this was AMAZING. I had no idea that the ending was coming and it actually made sense once I got to the end. I will say absolutely nothing about this issue simply because it would spoil everything; however, if you do decide to read the new Rebirth line this is a must. It is the bridge between New 52 and Rebirth and will help you understand why certain things have happened and changed in the lives of the characters of this line. 
  • Batman Rebirth #1: I've never been a huge Batman fan so I won't say this is appealed to me particularly, but it was an interesting read and I really enjoyed the artwork. 
  • Superman Rebirth #1: Okay so this one was both interesting and confusing and to my knowledge after doing some research on the web, I figured out that there are some issues of Superman from New 52 that I need to read. Essentially we're looking at a conflict between two versions of Superman. One Superman is the original pre-52 version and the other is the post-52 Superman. It's extremely confusing, but I'm invested in figuring it out. 
  • Wonder Woman Rebirth #1: I love love love Wonder Woman. It doesn't matter which line or version of her I'm reading so I'm definitely looking forward to picking up the trade paperbacks of her story line. 
  • The Flash Rebirth #1: The Flash family plays such a big role in this entire reboot so it's essential to read them. To be honest, I really enjoyed reading about the Flash and the Flash family in all aspects of this omnibus. There powers are essentially unique and strong and I find it extremely fascinating that a lot of the dynamics of this world revolve around them. 
  • Hal Jordan and the Green Lanterns Rebirth #1: Yea I'm not a Green Lanterns fan so this definitely didn't do anything for me. I've read some stuff before and I've really never enjoyed it. 
  • Aquaman Rebirth #1: I'm a huge fan of Aquaman. I think he's definitely an underrated
    superhero and he definitely has it difficult being split and underappreciated by two worlds. 
  • Green Arrow Rebirth #1: Very fast paced and really interesting character. I'm looking forward to seeing more of him. 
  • Cyborg Rebirth #1: This is one that I definitely don't have much interest in continuing. The story was dry and I barely found the energy to finish it. 
  • Green Lanterns Rebirth #1: Once again I'm not a fan of the Green Lantern line to begin with so I didn't really enjoy this issue. 
  • Justice League Rebirth #1: What is more enticing than reading about all the superheroes in one issue? I find everything about the Justice League interesting. It's even more interesting considering that there are certain elements that make it difficult for them to be the Justice League. I won't say what the elements are because of the fact that it would give away exactly what defines this reboot as the rebirth. 
  • Nightwing Rebirth #1: I'm not sure how I feel about this one. In fact, I don't really have the words to describe my experience with this issue, but it intrigued me enough to want to continue. 
  • Titans Rebirth #1: This started off as one of my favorites out of the entire omnibus only because I'm a huge fan of Wally West and it was great to see the Teen Titans as adults; however, I recently read the first trade paperback of this story line and I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I won't say too much about it simply because I don't want to spoil it; however, I think that I will continue it. 
  • Batgirl and Bird of Prey Rebirth #1: I have only two words for this one: girl power. And I enjoyed every minute of it. 
  • The Hellblazer Rebirth #1: Yes! This is everything I wanted and more. It was exciting, fun, and hilarious. And it was great to learn how the typical superheroes fit into Constantine's life. 
  • Red Hood & The Outlaws Rebirth #1: This issue simply proved to me my lack of knowledge about DC characters. I had no idea that the Batman family had so many components to it. The story was new and fresh to me and I actually really enjoyed it which surprised me considering I'm not a huge fan of Batman. 
  • Suicide Squad Rebirth #1: Yes! How could I not enjoy something related to our favorite anti-heroes ! I really enjoyed the story behind this issue and the artwork was phenomenal. 
  • Deathstroke Rebirth #1: Nope. Nada. This wasn't for me and I have no interest in continuing with this character. 
  • Supergirl Rebirth #1: This was extremely interesting for me considering I didn't know anything about Supergirl before jumping into this issue. I enjoyed it for what it was and I definitely will be looking to reading the first volume of her story line. 
  • Blue Beetle Rebirth #1: This is another character that I didn't know much about before reading the omnibus. While I enjoyed the artwork, the story just didn't pull me in and I highly doubt that I'll be picking up anything else related to this character. 
  • Teen Titans Rebirth #1: This was great!  I mean amazing! I loved everything about it. Because of the time shift and changes it was really interesting to see how this characters ended up together once again. It got me really excited to check out the complete volume of their rebirth. 
  • Batman Beyond Rebirth #1: Once again, I'm not a huge Batman fan so this one didn't really draw me in the way I thought it would. I'll be interested to see where the story is going to go.
As you can see this omnibus was complex and I had a lot of thoughts about it. It's going to be tricky keeping up with the line as a whole, but I'm going to try my best. There are some that I'm clearly interested in reading and others that I have absolutely no interest in. Hopefully I'll be able to keep you all updated on my journey of reading as many issues and volumes as I can. Let me know if you've read any of the Rebirth volumes or issues just yet. 


18 June 2017

Sunday Post #6

Happy Sunday fellow bloggers and readers. I am back with another Sunday post hosted by the lovely caffeinated book reviewer. I wish I was more consistent with these posts, alas, I am not haha. 



Okay let's start with my week in a complete recap. It's been a crazyyyyy week. I work for the library and we just opened up our new building with a whole lot of new materials so that means a whole lot customers. We have been extremely busy and I'm surprised I've been able to even read half the stuff I've been able to. 







Books Finished this Week: 







I actually got a lot read this week. Part of it was because I was taking part in a comic book/graphic novel readathon. I'll list my ratings of the books below as well as a link to my Goodreads review.

  • DC Rebirth Omnibus (3 Stars) - Review 
  • Titans Rebirth Vol. 1 (3 Stars) - Review 
  • Sweetness & Lightning Vol. 2 (3 Stars) - Review 
  • Giant Days Vol. 3 (4 Stars) - Review 
  • Fangirl (4 Stars) - Review 
  • Amina's Voice (4 Stars) - Review 




  • Book Review: DC Rebirth Omnibus 
  • Top 10 Tuesday 
  • Can't Wait Wednesday 
  • Riverdale Season #1 Review 
  • Friday #56 
  • Book Review: TBD  




I'm reading some good stuff this week. I've been devouring the Giant Days series and it has been an amazing journey. If you haven't read it yet I would definitely recommend checking it out. Everything, Everything is a book that I'm reading because of the movie buzz. I'm enjoying it so far. I don't know how I'll feel about towards the end, but right now it's ok. Dreadnought is one that I just started today, but I'm really excited about ti simply because of the premise and the fact that the main character is transgender. 

Alright guys that's it for this week. Keep reading throughout the week to see what I have in store. 

16 June 2017

Friday #56, #32 Amina's Voice by Hena Khan


The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!

Happy Reading!!



Everything in my life has been completely and totally crazy! We just opened the new library in my county and things have been completely bonkers. With that being said, I have been trying to get through this book for a little while and it definitely shouldn't be taking me as long because it's a children's book. It's great so far and I love the diversity of the characters. It's nice to see a Middle Eastern family at the forefront of this book. 





A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay true to her family’s vibrant culture while simultaneously blending in at school after tragedy strikes her community in this sweet and moving middle grade novel from the award-winning author of It’s Ramadan, Curious George and Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns.

Amina has never been comfortable in the spotlight. She is happy just hanging out with her best friend, Soojin. Except now that she’s in middle school everything feels different. Soojin is suddenly hanging out with Emily, one of the “cool” girls in the class, and even talking about changing her name to something more “American.” Does Amina need to start changing too? Or hiding who she is to fit in? While Amina grapples with these questions, she is devastated when her local mosque is vandalized.

Amina’s Voice brings to life the joys and challenges of a young Pakistani American and highlights the many ways in which one girl’s voice can help bring a diverse community together to love and support each other.