13 September 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday, #15: The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk



Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at Wishful Endings She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.



Expected Publication: March 6th, 2018

Let me start by saying that this cover is absolutely beautiful! It definitely appeals to the eye. The story is based on two teens who have to learn how to live when devastating events occur. It sounds like a great coming of age story as well as a self discovery story. I can't wait to get my hands on it and read it. 


Autumn always knew exactly who she was—a talented artist and a loyal friend. Shay was defined by two things: her bond with her twin sister, Sasha, and her love of music. And Logan always turned to writing love songs when his love life was a little less than perfect.

But when tragedy strikes each of them, somehow music is no longer enough. Now Logan can’t stop watching vlogs of his dead ex-boyfriend. Shay is a music blogger struggling to keep it together. And Autumn sends messages that she knows can never be answered.

Each of them wonders: How different would my life be if this hadn’t happened? And now that it has . . . what’s next?

12 September 2017

Top 10 Tuesday: Top 10 Books I Loved My 1st Year of Blogging



Okay so as some of you guys may know, I started my first year of blogging back in 2015 but was so inconsistent and scared of what to do that it didn't go so well. In fact, this is the first year that I would even consider my blogging to be even close to being where I want to be. Meh, anyway on to the good stuff. It's Tuesday so you know that means another Top 10 Tuesday! This weeks theme is a throw back. So we were given a couple of options and I decided to go with the top 10 books that I loved my first year of blogging. This is going to be as interesting to me as it is to you. I promise!! : )




 

Americanah. This was my first book by Chimamanda and I absolutely loved it. I found it incredibly captivating and authentic. (Review) Percy Jackson. Although I just included the picture of one of the books, 2015 was the year that I read all of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians books. I believe it started with just reading one for Booktubeathon and then it turned into a reading frenzy and I've been hooked ever since. More Happy Than Not. I fell in love with Adam Silvera while reading this book. I completely enjoyed it and I'm sad to say that I haven't read anything else by him since. I plan on rectifying that soon. (Review)


Spelled. This was an interesting book and at the time I was really into fairy tale re-tellings. I loved the way that Betsy Schow began each chapter. If you haven't picked up this book I definitely think that you should give it a try. The second one just came out not too long ago. (Review) Half-Blood. I was going through a mythology phase and trust me it hasn't ended yet. haha. Half-Blood was truly amazing and I recommend it to any and everyone who wants to a good teen mythology series. Fables. If you know me and you know me well, it will come as no surprise that I'm a Fables junkie. I love this series and I plan on re-reading the series sometime soon so I can remember exactly what happened. 

The Wrath & The Dawn. I heard everyone talking about this one and I just had to get my hands on it. Fortunately, I enjoyed every single page of it. On the down side, I still haven't read the sequel. I know, I know. I have got to do better. Trust me. I keep telling myself the same thing. (Review). The Wicked & The Divine. 2015 must have been the year that I became a comic book junkie because I read a lot of them. This was one of my favorites simply because of the artwork. The story was a little difficult to follow, but man that artwork was well worth the deciphering. Falling Kingdoms. If you haven't read this one I need you to pick it up now! It's great for fans of fantasy and definitely has a Game of Thrones feel to it. 


Outlander. Outlander was one of the most intense historical fiction books I have ever read. It took me a while to get through it, but I must admit it was well worth it. Unfortunately, I haven't gotten to the rest of the series yet, but I hope to change that soon. 

31 August 2017

A Month in Review: August 2017

Happy August everyone! So this month's wrap up is definitely going to be done rather quickly as I took this month off to get prepared for graduate school. I wanted to take the time to focus on learning how I was going to balance my schedule for the rest of the year. It's been an interesting time and I'm glad that I actually took the time to work towards creating a well planned stress free schedule. So, although I didn't read much I hope everyone still enjoys the wrap up! I can't promise that my reading will increase much more simply because of school, but I will definitely try to read more than what I did this month.





These were definitely my favorites for the month. Keep reading to see what else I read this month!


  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks 
  • Paper Princess (Royals, #1)
  • New Romancer 
  • My Love Story! Vol. 2
  • Food Wars! Shokugeki No Soma Vol. 18 
  • Plum Fantastic
  • Komomo Confiserie Vol. 4
  • Komomo Confiserie Vol. 5
  • Gotham Academy: Second Semester Vol. 1: Welcome Back 

So this month was definitely better in terms of reading books from places other than the United States, but I think that's because I didn't read as many things. The types of books is pretty spread out with comics/manga being in the lead. I'm not surprised by this simply because I know that when my reading slows down I'm more inclined to pick up a comic book or a volume of manga. Overall, this was a good month in terms of ratings. I enjoyed most of the things that I read even if it wasn't a lot. There were two books that were rated two stars; nevertheless, everything else was either a 4 or 5 star rating. 

This month I read a total of 1,909 pages so far this month which ultimately brings me to a complete today of 30,490 pages for the year. It isn't as much as last month's but I'm at least happy that I got some reading accomplished. 

Here's what I posted on my blog this month: 

  • One of Us Is Lying (Video Review)
  • Friday #56, History Is All You Left Me 
  • Top 10 Tuesday: Top 10 Comics I've Read This Year (So Far)
  • Can't Wait Wednesday: Heart of Iron
  • BookishRealm Discussion: Blog Hiatus
  • Friday #56, Thirteen Reasons Why
  • Top 10 Tuesday: Hidden Gems I've Found in Comics/Manga 
  • Can't Wait Wednesday: Hurricane Girl 
Let me know how everything went for you guys this week! : ) 

30 August 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday #14, Hurricane Children by Kheryn Callendar


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa over at WishfulEndings. She has taken on a similar meme to Jills Waiting on Wednesday over at Breaking the Spine. Since Jill hasn't posted in a while I'm going to join in on this meme. To participate all you have to do is spotlight upcoming publications you're eagerly anticipating. Keep reading to see what I have chosen for this week.


Expected Publication: March 27, 2018 

I can't remember how I found out about this book, but it has the most interesting premise and it also sounds like it will include some magical elements. I'm really looking forward to getting a copy of it and reading it when it releases. 


Prepare to be swept up by this exquisite novel that reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.

Twelve-year-old Caroline is a Hurricane Child, born on Water Island during a storm. Coming into this world during a hurricane is unlucky, and Caroline has had her share of bad luck already. She's hated by everyone in her small school, she can see things that no one else can see, and -- worst of all -- her mother left home one day and never came back. With no friends and days filled with heartache, Caroline is determined to find her mother. When a new student, Kalinda, arrives, Caroline's luck begins to turn around. Kalinda, a solemn girl from Barbados with a special smile for everyone, seems to see the things Caroline sees, too. Joined by their common gift, Kalinda agrees to help Caroline look for her mother, starting with a mysterious lady dressed in black. Soon, they discover the healing power of a close friendship between girls. Debut author Kheryn Callender presents a cadenced work of magical realism.

29 August 2017

Top 10 Tuesday: Hidden Gems In Comics/Manga

Hey guys! It's Tuesday so that means another Top 10 Tuesday hosted by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. Today's topic is documenting hidden gems in a genre of our choice. Of course, I automatically went with comics and manga! So keep reading to find out which titles can be great additions to your TBR!



Birthright. I've only read the first volume of this one; however, it's a really good concept with a magical and medieval feel to it. I really appreciated the artwork and I look forward to see where the rest of the series is going to go. Faith. I originally bought the first issue of this and ended up never reading it and then I found out that my library had a copy of the first volume so I decided to check it out and I ended up loving the positive body image message. I think that the plot needs a little bit of work; however, the overall concept is really good. Goldie Vance. This comic definitely doesn't get the amount of attention it deserves. It has quite a few mysterious elements; however, what I loved most about it was the wide range of diverse characters.


Komomo Confiserie. I recently finished this entire manga series (it's only 5 volumes) and I must say it was definitely worth the journey of me getting to know the characters. It was cute, charming and full of interesting elements especially the character growth. If you want a quick romance based manga to get through I would definitely recommend this one. Monster. So this isn't actually a hidden gem because a lot of people seem to know about it, but I wanted to include it on this list because it turned out to be a hidden gem for me. I didn't really know too much about Monster before I went and checked it out from the library. It's AMAZING. I would definitely categorize it as a psychological thriller. I wouldn't recommend trying to figure out anything about it before reading. Go into it blind! Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur. I didn't really care or the first volume, but just know that the series gets really good by the second volume.


Morning Glories. All I can say about this one is that if you like boarding schools definitely go for this one! It's creepy and deals with some really weird adults, but it all takes in a boarding school. Oddly Normal. This is a great comic for kids and the family. It focuses on the story of a girl that is half witch and half human. She doesn't fit into either world which is an interesting concept. I really liked the artwork and I'm excited to pick up the next volume. Roller Girl. This was SC Book Award nominee that I picked up this year and I'm glad that I did. It's great for middle school kids as it chronicles the journey of a girl learning to find her self-confidence. The plot was great and so was the artwork.


Beauty. This comic book has the craziest concept I have ever encountered and for the fear of spoiling it for you I won't tell you what it is. Just pick it up and give it a try.

What genre did you choose and what would you classify as a hidden gem?

25 August 2017

Friday #56, #38 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

The Friday #56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda's VoiceJoin in every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you've been reading. Here are the rules:

  • Grab a book 
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader
  • Find any sentence (or a few, don't spoil it) 

**Be sure to post the links to your Friday #56 below!




Happy Reading!!! 


So this week I'm re-reading a book for grad school. If you guys didn't know, I'm currently enrolled in an online Masters of Library Information and Science program and my focus is in Youth Services. As a result, I'm required to take a couple of classes that focus on books for specific age groups. The class that I'm currently taking focuses in on young adult materials. We'll be required to read at least 20 young adult books this semester which is pretty cool. The first one that was chosen by our professor is 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. While I've already read this book, it's been a while since I've actually read it so it's great getting back into this world and understanding and reading it for the first time in several years. I know that I only gave the book 3 stars when I originally read it; however, this year I think things may actually change so I'll definitely be doing a new review. I'll keep you guys posted! : ) 

"When rumors of Hannah's unexplained absence began spreading through school, Mr. Porter asked our class why he kept hearing her name mentioned in the halls. He looked nervous. Almost sick. Like he knew the answer but wanted someone to convince him otherwise." 


You can’t stop the future.
You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.


Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.
 

24 August 2017

Bookishrealm Discussion: Blog/Youtube Hiatus: I'm Back !



Okay so if you haven't noticed which I'm sure you have I've pretty much have been absent this whole month. Did I intentionally do this at first? NOPE! Haha. But after a while of not blogging and not posting YouTube videos my hiatus then become intentional. I've never been the type to take a break from my world of books like this; however, I've had a lot happen in the past few weeks (all good things) and I actually needed some time away to process and get my life more organized than it has been in a couple of months. So while I won't go into the specifics of why I took this break, I will discuss some of the benefits that come with taking a brief hiatus from working on a blog or Youtube channel. With that being said I would encourage anyone and everyone to take a break when it's needed. I know a lot of times we expect a lot of each other; however, we're all still human and sometimes we just need some time away.

Here are some benefits I gained from taking a break:

  • I was able to get my personal life in order. I'm a full time graduate student this semester and I needed time to adjust to doing that while working full time. 
  • Planning became my best friend. I know that every blogger had their own way of planning out what posts were going to occur for the week or even month in advance; however, I become even more organized than usual. I got a planner and notebook to pinpoint what needed to be completed for school, my personal life, and my blogging life every couple of days.
  • I caught up on TV shows/movies. This may not seem like a big deal; however, I hadn't been watching a lot of TV because I became too absorbed with reading, blogging, and making videos. Hey, everybody needs some sense of balance. 
  • Sleep. Yes, yes, yes! I actually got some rest and was able to relax.
  • Blogging/Video Future: With this time off I was also able to pinpoint what I wanted to do in terms of the future of this blog and the future of my YouTube channel and surprisingly I feel like I have some good things coming in the near future. 
So what I would like to know from you all is if you've ever had to take a break and if you had how long was your break? Did you see any benefits of taking a break? Let me know in the comments below. And I'm definitely happy to be back! : )